Bogong Rover Crew

The Bogong Rover Crew was established by W F “Bill” Waters and its first members were invested into the Crew on Thursday 7th of September 1933.

Initially the Crew existed for the same purpose as the present Alpine Rover Crew, however, this was changed in 1940 when the Alpine Rover Crew as a distinct group came into existence.

From 1940 onwards the Bogong Rover Crew has existed as an award for outstanding service and good conduct. The Crew has no permanent place nor wealth and membership is strictly honorary. All those invested into the Bogong Rover Crew are invested on skis during winter and insight of Mount Bogong, Victoria’s highest peak.

Those invested into the Crew in 1933 were;

  • W. F. “Bill” Waters
  • Harry Hewitt
  • H. E. “Bill” Williams
  • P. Batterham
  • G. Kemp
  • J.N. Gilchrist
  • C. Beeston
  • Roy Driver
  • E. Hulme

Bogong Rover Crew of 1933, Cope Hut
This picture shows the initial Bogong Rover Crew of 1933 outside Cope Hut on the Bogong High Plains, Victoria.

Approximately two hundred and ten people have been invested into the Bogong Rover Crew since its inception. In the near future we hope to provide details of the full list of Crew members.


In 2004, there were no new members invested into the Bogong Rover Crew. To remedy that for 2005, a nominations form has been created. If you know of anyone who meets the membership requirements below, then nominate them by filling in this form.


Membership of the Bogong Rover Crew is by nomination and approval. To be eligible to become a member of the Crew Rovers or Scouters must;

  • Be a member of the Alpine Rover Crew
  • Be a warranted Scouter or Rover
  • Have attended at least 3 Bogong Chalet Winter Parties
  • Have contributed by the way of work or organisation to the Bogong Rover Chalet and Rover Skiing
  • Be nominated and seconded by two members of the Bogong Rover Crew
  • Have your nomination approved